Beach trippin’

There is no place on earth as peaceful as the beach.  Even a crowded beach.  Just hearing the ocean, feeling the sand between your toes, seeing the sun set… ahhhh.

It’s like a tiny piece of heaven.

After my summer adventure in Washington DC, Wil, Will and the ATL girls (Abigail, Lisa and Laura) all gathered in Hilton Head Island for a few days of sun and sand.  A few of us, myself included, got a little too much sun, but everyone seemed to have a great time.

I just loved being back in the South, too.  I think what people say about Southern hospitality is mostly true.  I can always tell when I am back in the South after being away for a long time.  People suddenly make eye contact with you (not in a creepy way), or act nice when they wait on you in restaurants or meet you on the street.  It’s pretty great.

Plus, you can’t beat Southern sweet tea.

We started out the road trip to South Carolina on Tuesday, with a quick lunch at the Blue Willow Inn in Social Circle.  I want to move here when I graduate, but if I did, I would weigh 300 pounds.  So I better stay away, for health reasons.

Drinking lemonade and sitting on the front porch.  Lovely.
Drinking lemonade and sitting on the front porch. Lovely.

Words cannot describe how good the food was at the Blue Willow Inn.  It was like eating Sunday lunch at Grandma Helen’s house–except times 10! Fried green tomatoes, cheese biscuits, pecan pie, chicken divine, etc.  We made this little instructional video to help you take advantage of the eating the most food possible at such a feast as this.

The next few days we soaked up the sun on the beach.  I soaked up a little too much, if you know what I mean.  We pretty much all got sunburned though.

This wasn't enough to keep Wil from being on the beach.
This wasn't enough to keep Wil from being on the beach.

Of course, we had to take a few glamour shots while we were there.

IMG_3731

IMG_3755

6495_524357971944_168302567_31213209_3553258_n

6495_524358316254_168302567_31213229_3179735_n

IMG_3773

Oh, and Will got stung by a jellyfish.

IMG_3748
Jellyfish Jinx!

We also spent part of the day in Savannah, which was a beautiful city with loads of history.  I want to spend more time there!

Beth also joined us for the day!
Beth also joined us for the day!

So here is the lesson I learned:  I love South Carolina and Georgia.  The End.

Leave a Reply

