C’mon knock on our door….

It’s okay. The real world has been knocking on my door this week anyway.

It is SO weird to be a senior. I always thought that college seniors would have their whole lives together and planned, but as I hear the worries and concerns of all my friends, I am quickly learning that “getting your life together” is one big, fat myth.

Which is really okay by me. There is a lot less pressure that way.

It seems like the life I have been waiting for so long is finally starting. I have always been that girl who was waiting for the next big thing–always looking forward and never looking down to rejoice that my feet were planted solidly on the ground or that the sky was still above me. I have never really been the one to live completely in the present.  I am too much of a planner and a dreamer for that to characterize my life, but lately God has been speaking directly to this part of my life that is never really satisfied with what is going on.

One word. Contentment. It’s popping up over and over again in my life. That, coupled with the timing of me wanting more and wishing for the next phase, makes me sit up and listen.

I realized I will never be content apart from the only One who truly satisfies.  Now, I am not saying that I shouldn’t have goals or dreams for my future.  But I am saying that none of those things matter apart from God.

I can look for my next job, my next boyfriend, my next house, and never be satisfied with those things if I don’t perceive that God is in all and above all and through all. He is the ultimate giver and provider. He is in the good, and He is in the bad.

I definitely don’t understand it all. I have a lot to learn, but in the meantime I am going to keep dreaming and keep listening to the little lessons that God wants me to hear.

And as far as the real world goes, bring it on.

Leave a Reply

