Summer breeze

Photo from wallpaperstock.net.

Yesterday I got my first taste of summer. There is just something about summer in Oklahoma. First, it has a very particular smell–like the golden smell of hay drying in the sun. What always gets me, though, is the feeling of the summer wind. The summer wind feels like it is coming straight out of an oven, and for some reason, that is comforting to me.

In other summer news, this year I am going home to Idabel! It’s the first time I will go home for the whole summer since I came to college. Hopefully I will get a job (prayers for that, please!) and I will be able to help out around home.

I am just so excited to be back home for the summer. I have a lot of exciting plans and goals which I can’t wait to share them with you! Maybe I will have more time when I am done with this semester. The closer it gets, the more apprehensive I am! I can’t bear the thought of saying goodbye to several of my best friends, but I know that we all have to leave this atmosphere and get into the real world sometime. I just want all of us to stay in the same area, but that won’t be possible either. Ugh. Sometimes growing up is tough.

Much to my mother’s dismay, my dad is planning a small garden this summer.  I am beyond excited because I think growing healthy food is the best way to watch out for yourself and your planet! But that is a subject for another blog post, I guess. We are growing tomatoes, cucumbers, and squash. That is the extent of it for now, but it should be manageable enough. I can’t wait to make fried green tomatoes. YUM.

Leave a Reply

