Day in the Life

I think I need to prop my eyelids open with something. Whew. Today has been knock-down, drag-out busy.

Here is just a glimpse of my day, which I am sure all of you can relate to:

6:00 a.m.–Wake up from a horrifying dream about a catfish, in which one of my classmates from third grade made a guest appearance.  appeared to grab and dispose of the foot-long catfish that somehow made its way into my water bottle. What?

6:30 a.m.–Alarm(s) jolt me out of bed. I shed a few tears on the way to the bathroom.

7:15 a.m.–Getting ready. My inbox greets me with a deluge of newspaper-related emails. The drama acts as a shot of caffeine to get my eyes open.

8:00 a.m.–Fully dressed and ready to go in my business professional outfit. Start writing my presentation.

8:50 a.m.–Finished with presentation and out the door to class.

9:00 a.m.–Entered into the most boring Biology class of all time. We had a guest lecturer and it definitely made me appreciate our regular teacher.

10:30 a.m.–Left said Biology class early due to my presentation. Praise.

11:00 a.m.–Had a minor freak out when I realized the entire network was down, and I couldn’t print any of my presentation notes. So I had to wing my presentation. Considering that I only wrote it three hours before, it probably wasn’t that big of a deal. I wasn’t that prepared, anyway.

12:30 p.m.–Cancel my afternoon appointment so I can have some down time.

1:00 p.m.–Realize that I actually double booked myself this afternoon. Not much free time after that!

2:30 p.m.–Present my second project of the day.

3:00 p.m.–Run to my apartment to change out of my stilettos to a slightly more comfortable flat.

3:30 p.m.–Drive downtown to tour a local PR firm.

4:00 p.m.–Tour. And also freak out about my future.

5:00 p.m.–Eat dinner with some fellow students, my PR teacher, and his family. The dinner is less awkward then I imagined, but not bad.

7:00 p.m.–Come home and freak out about my future some more. Mostly about my online presence… social media is where it is at, according to those who are in the know. Should I be tweeting more? What if tweets (or feeling forced to tweet so I can land a job) annoy me?

9:00 p.m.–Watch the Gamma-Pi soccer game.

10:30 p.m.–Finally get to settle in for the night.

Okay, I know that most people have schedules as crazy or crazier than mine, but sometimes I wonder if I can handle this outside of college. Professionals, especially PR people, are known for leading crazy hectic lives. I am not sure that I want that. I just want to slow down and enjoy life a little more. You know, take a siesta every once and a while. Stop and smell the roses!

Is it possible for life to get slower after college??? I don’t need easier, per se. Just a little bit more relaxed. If so, sign me up.

Leave a Reply

