I wish commercial was my life

My parents got me a Kindle last May for my birthday and for the most part I love it. It does not stop me from buying physical copies of books, like they secretly hoped, but it is convenient if you just want to buy something to read once. It’s also good for traveling and commuting, which is what I really used it for in D.C. last summer.

You can also download versions on your iPhone, Mac or PC, which keeps your library all up-to-date and synced. I LOVE that.

But the Kindle also increases what I like to call the book impulse buy. I often buy things on impulse in Target or at the grocery store, but normally I contemplate books because I used to purchase them less frequently. Until I had the Amazon marketplace at my fingertips via the Kindle. Now, it’s like iTunes. I can buy what I want, when I want to buy it.

Yikes.

Needless to say, this creates more books on my library that I would normally not buy. So right now I have tons of books that I own but have never read.

So here is what I am going to do: I am not going to buy another book until I have read every last word of books I own but have not finished. Every. Last. Word. It is going to be hard, but I think it will be fun. I have so many books and this summer I should have time to read them.

And I can get a jump start on the cruise I am going on next week! Yes, you heard me. I am going on a five day cruise to the Bahamas with three of my great friends. It is going to be a blast and the perfect way to shake the dust of this semester off my feet.

So this time next week, this is where you can find me. Be jealous.

Photo from National Geographic
Leave a Reply

