Uncategorized

Greetings from Deadwood, South Dakota!

Today we entered the first state that I had never visited–South Dakota. I had zero expectations but so far I have just been blown away by the beauty of this place. I definitely understand why all the pioneers travelled west, because this is the most beautiful and unspoiled country I have seen in America. Imagine how much more pristine it would have been 150 years ago!

But we still had a lot of driving to do after we left church in Nebraska this morning. (Side note: I am pretty sure at least one of the people from church was at the church camp I worked at 2 years ago.)  I learned three things about Nebraska this weekend: they love trains, cupolas and race cars.

I also sort of captured one of the beautiful red barns through the window of the car:

We have stayed off of interstate highways for the most part, so the scenic drives offer so much to see! In South Dakota we ran across this cute living museum called “1880s Town.” Old buildings from the area comprised the prairie town and included tons of artifacts and antiques, including a lot of memorabilia from Custer’s Last Stand at the Battle of Little Bighorn. It also displayed a lot of cowboy relics, which is something that is close to my heart. It reminded me of my family!

The town even came complete with a yellow house. I wish I lived there!

We gained an hour because of the time zone switch, so we arrived at Mt. Rushmore around 7 p.m. MST. The Black Hills roll on for miles, and the monument is nestled right in the heart of them. It was a beautiful scenic drive!

I haven’t even had a chance to explore Deadwood yet, but the drive here felt like a car commercial. I can’t wait to see it in the daylight!

Standard

8 thoughts on “Greetings from Deadwood, South Dakota!

  1. Sandy says:

    Hey there u two, sounds like a good time is being had, I’m very jealous, I’ve never been in that part of the country. Where are you heading next?

  2. kim says:

    you’re so awesome!! i love this!! i can’t wait to see the rest of your travels! 🙂 i miss you and i’m praying for safe travels!!

  3. brad says:

    Hey, if you go behind Mt. Rushmore, there is a lake that if you go behind the waterfall of that lake you will find an ancient city of the Aztecs made purely of gold and you will be rich beyond your wildest dreams…………………………..No, for real, I saw it in National Treasure 2.

    Hope you are having a blast. Be safe.

  4. Sommer says:

    How awesome, sounds like you two are having a lot of fun…I loved the badlands too, wish I had stopped at Deadwood. love that also. looking forward to see you both..love ya. sommer

Leave a Reply

