Greetings from Seattle, Washington

[I tried to record a video but my computer is rebelling. More videos tomorrow.]

Today’s highlights:

  • Seeing Pike Place Market and the Space Needle
  • Catching up with Rusty and Tracy (Mom’s cousin and his wife)
  • Surprising my friend Wil who is on tour here in Seattle

I heard some where that the bluest skies are in Seattle, and today I can say that is a true statement. For a city that sees rain most of the year, it certainly can provide a sunshiny day. Even though we only explored the city for a few hours, I fell in love with it. Definitely a place I want to explore some more!

I don’t have much by way of video or pictures today because today was more about reconnecting with friends and family. My mom and I met her cousin and his wife for dinner. Before we met them, we explored Pike Place Market.

Yes, they really do throw fish here, although I think the only real purpose is to impress the tourists. But, hey, it worked!

And no trip to the market would be complete without a visit to the world’s first Starbucks.

My mom’s cousin Rusty works and lives in the Seattle area, and he and his wife met us for dinner at The Pink Door.

Over dinner I heard a lot of family tales accompanied with a healthy dose of laughter. It was definitely a walk down memory lane for them and I enjoyed hearing stories about my West Coast cousins.

I hadn’t seen Rusty or Tracy since 1998 when I was 10 years old. It was great to see them and I had so much fun catching up!

I wish I had a picture of this, but another exciting part of the day included surprising Wil and the rest of The Non at their show here in Seattle. I hadn’t told him I was in town, so the look on his face was priceless! It was so great to see a familiar face, even if it was just for a few minutes. I’m so glad their tour is going well!

Being in these new cities definitely made me change my perspective on where I would want to live after graduation. I want to move to a place where the people are friendly, and I don’t think I have ever been in a friendlier area than Idaho, Montana and Washington. The people here are SO NICE. Like, almost to the point of being creepy… which I love! So, if anyone is looking for a PR person in the Northwest or the South (or really anywhere, I am not that picky as long as I get paid), hire me after graduation! Ha!

6 Comments

  1. Ok, Kaylee. Your trip sounds and looks fantastic. I will someday make the same drive as you are right now. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

