Greetings from Portland, Oregon

Well, not really. I’m actually in Albany, OR. But today I explored Portland!

And by explored, I mean I spent the entire afternoon in Powell’s City of Books. And I couldn’t have been happier.

The store is broken into 9 different color-coded rooms (love the organization of it all!) and each room contains specific genres of books. They have new and used titles, too, so you can get out-of-print editions. It is a book-lover’s paradise. I could barely contain myself. As soon as I saw the books, a frantic feeling overcame me and I just had to SHOP.

If I lived in Portland, I might go bankrupt.

We did walk around the Pearl District and ate at Jake’s. I had yummy, fresh Dungeness crab cakes. Normally I am not a seafood person, but eating it fresh out of the ocean makes a huge difference.

I wish we could have stayed longer in Portland, but I think Mom and I are ready to visit more family. Tomorrow we will be staying with my mom’s cousin in Medford and then we will stay a few nights with another cousin in McKinleyville, CA. Being with Mom’s family is always a BLAST and I can’t wait to see them!

One Comment

  1. I am so glad you are having fun visiting the Northwest. I grew up in Olympia, Wa., it is also a beautiful place to visit. You guys are going to have so much fun at Sandy’s and Debbie’s. your getting closer to me…..I am getting so excited!

Leave a Reply

