Back to school again

Welp, here it is, folks. My last fall semester at Oklahoma Christian University. This week has been such a whirlwind of mixed emotions, both good and bad.

Last weekend I went back to Idabel to celebration my grandfather’s birthday.

He is a cowboy, the real deal, and has an amazing story that makes you believe that the American dream exists. And he turned 80 on Friday! Our entire family came to wish him a happy birthday. That includes my 16 cousins, their spouses, children, etc.  Needless to say, we overwhelmed Idabel, and I didn’t hate it.

I also started my internship downtown. It deals with Oklahoma travel and sustainability, which is perfect for my interests. I love the people I work with, and I think I will have a lot of flexibility and creativity.

Classes are all very interesting. That is the privilege of adding classes just to make a full-time student: I got to choose classes I actually wanted to take. I am learning guitar, learning Christian financial principles, talking about mission work, etc. I love it. I am actually really pumped about this semester, which is unusual. BUT my fingertips are sore due to practicing. I guess that is the price I have to pay.

Since it is my last semester, I have decided to do it right and make some healthy goals.

1. Actually read for class. Because you are crazy if you thought I actually did that. Ever.

2. Make time to take care of myself–exercise, prayer, meditation, etc. It is not going to get any easier, so I need to get in the habit of doing this now.

3. Be more encouraging to others. Specifically, put it in writing at least 5 times a week.

4. Practice my guitar 20 minutes a day, 7 days a week. Maybe by the end of the semester I will be this good.

Leave a Reply

