Breakfast for Dinner Casserole

Tonight I had a few people over to my apartment and my friend Laura and I cooked a little fall break feast to celebrate our LAST fall break as college students. Laura came up with the idea to make breakfast for dinner, and it turned out great! I wish I had pictures to show you how delicious everything looked, but we ate it all too fast to document 🙂

BREAKFAST FOR DINNER MENU:

  • Fruit salad
  • Hash browns
  • Bacon
  • Egg Casserole with Spinach and Tomato
  • Cheese Grits
  • French Toast

I was responsible for the hash browns and the egg dish, both of which I had never made before. It was definitely an adventure, but the eggs turned out really well so I wanted to document the recipe for future reference.

I found a basic recipie for an Egg and Sausage Casserole on AllRecipes.com and it served as my inspiration.

Ingredients:

  • One package (or is it container? roll?) of crescent rolls
  • 1 pound of pork sausage
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 10 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 2 sliced tomatoes, seeds removed
  • 1 cup fresh spinach leaves, torn into pieces
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano or Italian seasoning
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and butter a 9 x 13 pan. I used glass, but a Stonewear or cast iron pan would be great, too.
  2. Saute the onions in a large skillet for 2 to 3 minutes (use butter or olive oil if necessary), then brown the sausage until completely cooked. Drain and set aside.
  3. Place the crescent roll dough on the bottom of the pan and bake for 7 minutes. Meanwhile, combine the remaining ingredients and mix well.
  4. Evenly distribute the cooked sausage on top of the crescent rolls, then pour the egg mixture on top of the sausage.
  5. Cover, then bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Uncover, then bake until eggs are set, or about 30 more minutes. The dish is done when the middle rises and a knife inserted comes out clean.

It’s really pretty simple, and I think you could make it ahead of time and refrigerate until it is time to bake. Also, you can get really creative and make some variations on this dish. Next time I might use pepper jack cheese and green peppers to spice it up a little bit. I will definitely be using this again! I don’t even like eggs, but the spinach and cheese really made it full of flavor.

One Comment

  1. Hi Kaylee,
    I’m so excited for you. You are ALMOST there !!!!! You have a wonderful future ahead of you. You have your priorities all in order, always putting God first in your life. I also realize that you have a lot of decisions to make over the next couple of months. Just want you to know that you are in my thoughts and and prayers. I know how busy you are during this time, so just remember how much I love and admire you, sweet girl. I’ll leave you with this scripture, that has gotten me through a lot of hard times during my ALMOST 69 years. Philippians 4: 4-7 and 4:12 & 13 and 4:19. God bless you, Kaylee….and thanks for loveing me and my family. Remember to keep my Katie in your prayers for 100% healing. My Love…..Jeannie

Leave a Reply

