Here’s to November

Happy November, y’all!

I am excited to see what this month will bring. Cooler weather, Christmas lights, Thanksgiving turkey (or lack thereof, since I hate most Thanksgiving food), and homecoming celebrations at Oklahoma Christian. I love it all. Fall is my favorite time of year and November is the cream of the crop.

So much can change in a month, and I am excited to see where God takes me. One thing I would like to focus on this month is a topic that God has whispered in my heart for several months now: discipline. Discipline is something that my generation does not seem to embrace. And looking at the state of American society in general– with overwhelming financial trouble, a climbing divorce rate, and the obesity epidemic–I think most people don’t know the meaning of discipline anymore.

I am definitely included in that estimation. I lack discipline in almost all areas of my life, except in my religious Facebook use. And discipline is a spiritual problem, too! I don’t make time for focused prayer or Bible study when I am at school, and my life suffers for it. I now realize that I am not going to just wake up one morning and “have it all together”. I need to start living in the now instead of waiting for tomorrow.

So this month, I have decided to focus more on what God has been trying to call my attention to all along. I need to actively seek Him first and be a good steward of the things He has given me.

Leave a Reply

